Senioritis

It took me 45 minutes to start writing the first sentence of this post. If that isn’t senioritis, I don’t know what is.

In May of 2021, I graduate high school (that is, if my advisors stop surprising me with classes they “didn’t know I had to take”). Currently, I’m sitting in my bed eating disgusting amounts of leftover sour Skittles from Halloween. The last thing I care about? College. It’s almost like my degree, unfortunately, means nothing to me anymore.

Here’s the thing: I’m an Integrated Studies major. What is that, you may be asking? Let me know if you figure it out. All I’ve learned about it so far is that if you smush enough random subjects together, they may make up a degree. In an attempt to salvage my sanity after I realized my degree was useless, I tried to back it up with a minor in Leadership Studies and a minor in Marketing. So far, the Leadership Studies minor has only taught me how to finagle my way through useless discussion boards in an attempt to “understand” leadership without actually leading anyone.

On the other hand, there’s my Marketing minor. Learning about the behavior of consumers only leaves me feeling like this portion of my degree will be used to explicitly exploit people in order to get them to purchase goods and services. My only saving grace has been my Social Media Marketing class. Yes, professor, I’m talking about you (she’s the reason I made this blog in the first place). In my college career so far, it has been one of two classes that I feel have truly left an impact on my life thus far.

College has been a weird mix of “Why am I here?” and “What am I doing?” Of course, it’s stressful to think about the doom of what could happen if I ended up not getting a job after I graduate. I suppose the next option would be to endure senioritis one more time: in Grad school.

So, here’s to senioritis. Not knowing what you’re doing at this point in your college career is surprisingly normal. It’s okay not knowing what on Earth you are going to do after college or what job you will have. I spend nearly every evening considering if having a 4.0 GPA even matters to me anymore, or if I want to finish my degree at all. What I’m trying to say here is STAY IN SCHOOL, KIDS! Senioritis happens to everyone. Hang in there.